Who We Are

The whole concept of Harmony is brilliant, that rare combination of vision, intelligence and practicality essential to make the world a better place. Guided by Michael Bloomfield’s dedication and leadership Harmony has helped organizations and people in Canada and around the world contribute on vital issues such as climate change, biodiversity and the greening of our cities. Foresight and a commitment to quality, innovation and positive action sets Harmony apart. So too does Michael Bloomfield’s leadership. 

— Robert Bateman, Artist, Naturalist and Honorary Chair

Board of Directors

Founder and Executive Director
Mr. Michael Bloomfield

Mr. Jean-Pierre Soublière
President and CEO, Anderson Soublière Inc.

Vice President:
Dr. Thomas Axworthy
Chairman of the Centre for the Study of Democracy, Queen’s University

Mr. Nick Mosky
principal, Waddell Raponi Law 

Mr. Robert Van Tongerloo
Consultant, organizational management, specializing in not-for-profit organizations

Dr. Tarjei Tennessen
Professor, Nova Scotia Agricultural College

Directors Emeritus

Dr. Robert Carter
Hon. Lynn Ratushny
Hon. Arthur Campeau

G. Ward Strickland
David Cox
Pat Kelly
Diane G. Weber

Mr. Jack Walsh 

The Founder 

Michael Bloomfield is the Founder and Executive Director of Harmony Foundation. He holds post-secondary degrees in nutrition and wildlife biology and has broad experience with environment, community development, and international issues. His insights on conflict resolution, cooperative problem solving, adult education and ethical decision-making assist the Foundation and many others to take positive action.

Our People

People come and go in life’s rhythms and we are grateful to each for their contribution to Harmony’s many accomplishments. However, we would like to thank several people whose exceptional work at key times, sometimes long-standing, was instrumental to Harmony’s success – Lanlin Bu, Christine Bloomfield, Gordon Harrison,  Kris Wong. And for their leadership and advice an outstanding Board of Directors, led by Jean-Pierre Soublière. And special thanks to Robert Bateman whose friendship, encouragement and support have been instrumental to our success. 

Honorary Chair

Mr. Robert Bateman renowned artist and naturalist 

The Foundation also benefits from the advice and assistance of an Advisory Council consisting of a diverse group of individuals and organizations who share in our commitment to the principles of leadership, innovation and excellence in environmental education.

Financial Advisors

Financial Advisors
BMO Nesbitt Burns 

Hutcheson and Co. 

Legal Counsel
Waddell Raponi, Victoria
Barrigar Intellectual Property Law


The Foundation is grateful to the many businesses, foundations, government agencies and individuals that have supported our work over the years and continue to do so.  They are recognized in gratitude in the programs, publications and other activities they support.  However, we would be remiss for not expressing our thanks here to certain donors for their support in essential ways at pivotal times: 

Robert Bateman, Royal Bank of Canada and Environment Canada
for early confidence and support. 

The Bank of Montreal, Royal Bank of Canada, Robert Bateman
for their stalwart support over the years